Agora Penang in my Reflection

29 12 2007

My friend, N, from church, asked me rather casually one Sunday after church service, “are we becoming more irrelevant?”.

It’s a common questions we were all hit at within the christian community, whether at CF or in churches. But I cannot help to notice “more”.  The fact that we were having a consecutive Sundays of sermons on James and we just had our weekly dosage of James that day made sense of N’s “more”.

How bad can we get, preaching James and all, and still get such a comment?

We do not need another group telling us how to defend our religion against the bit-sized doctrinal questions, we do not need another group telling us how to provide therapeutic escapade from this “sin-stricken world” as one of my church leaders love to use to describe god’s good earth.

Can we live up to our name, Agora, and reflect the myriad and complexity of human interactions in the market place, neither affirming the evilness of the human heart nor denying the beauty of all Creation, not least humanity created in god’s own sacred image?

As I was reflecting recently on the existence of Agora Penang, I cannot help but to post this excellent article by the Rev. Jim Wallis. I do not know if this is even loosely related to N’s rhetorical question or my own questions to Agora Penang (which is basically, for now, Joanne, YK, JR and I and a few of our close friends), but the sheer beauty of the whole idea of Christmas binding man to man, that is powerful enough for me to think that the World, more than ever, still need God and need to see and experience all His wondrous beauty, most especially displayed in fellow human beings. And this I pray will be Agora Penang’s mission, no matter how small we are now. This I pray will be the mission and vision of the Church of God, to demonstrate and uphold God’s beauty:

http://blog.beliefnet.com/godspolitics/2007/12/christmas-in-the-trenches-by-j.html

Actions

Information

One response

19 09 2015
wohnzimmer modern einrichten tipps

Thanks for a marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading
it, you may be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and
will often come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage
continue your great writing, have a nice morning!

Leave a Reply

